My Disdain for the Status Quo

I am a competitive person.  I always have been.  I am really competitive with myself and with others.  I am self-motivated.  I do not like losing.  I do not like when people tell me that I cannot do something.  I think this is because I was born a fighter.  I grew up with an older brother who I always looked up to (and still do) and always tried to outdo, especially when it came to physical endeavors.  The vast majority of people are ok with being average.  I am not one of those people.  There is always something inside of me that wants to dominate every component of my life.  I will strive to outdo myself (and others) in the gym.  I will strive to be a better dad to my two boys and a better husband to my wife today than I was yesterday.  I will strive to be more financially successful this year than I was last year.  It is just the way I am.  I am constantly trying to improve in all areas of my life.  It is the fighter in me that is never content.  A great band once said “satisfaction is the death of desire”.  These are words to live by.  If you are not moving forward, you are inevitably moving backwards.  Do not become content.  Do not listen to those who tell you it is not possible whatever it may be.  Do not let the fear of failure paralyze you.  Let the fear of being average light the fire necessary to succeed.

About dcoffin280

I am a Boston based strength and conditioning coach.

Posted on November 10, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s what I like and respect about you, Dave. You don’t accept mediocrity, and you help your clients see the potential in themselves. I would have the desire to get up at 5:30AM twice a week if it were not for positive energy and excellent coaching skills.

  2. well said. No greater goal than self-knowledge; no greater accomplishment than doing what you know, in your very soul, you are put here to do…and to do so with passion 🙂

Leave a Reply

