Goals

Whats up everyone?  I hope everyone had a great week.  I had a great week of training, setting PR’s on both my bench press and back squat and two of my clients (Kate and Beth) have seen all of their hard work starting to pay off as well.  These ladies came in with clear cut goals of improving strength, increasing lean body mass, and losing fat and the proof is in the pudding as they say.  Both are fitting into clothes that they have not worn in years and are lifting significantly heavier weights than they were 8 weeks ago.  This is because they come to the gym, train hard, and do things outside of the gym to bring them closer to their goals (most of the time).  Why am I telling this story?  Well, first of all because I am giving some credit where credit is due.  Also, the fact that they had goals and executed (and continue to execute) a plan to make it happen.  The key words here people are GOALS.

I got a phone call a couple of days ago, and the person on the line was interested in training.  When I asked her what her primary goal was, she informed me, and this is word for word, “I want to focus on hardcore core strength.”  She proceeded to tell me how she wished to go about achieving this hardcore core strength.  Hardcore core strength?  As opposed to just regular core strength?  Do you even know what musculature comprises your core?  Did you think that I would have omitted this portion of your body had you not mentioned it?  People, core strength is not a goal for training.  If I am designing a program for you, there will be training for your precious little core.  Core is a fitness buzzword much like sport specific training and functional training and it irritates me when people talk about core training this and core training that and have no idea what they are talking about.  

If you are to embark on a training program, set some real goals for yourself.  Improved strength is a goal.  If you are lifting heavier weights today than you were lifting 3 months ago, guess what…you got stronger.  Fat loss is a goal.  If you take skinfold measurements today and your body composition is better than it was 3 months ago, guess what….you lost fat.  

Have a great weekend.

Train hard.  Train smart.

Dave Coffin

About dcoffin280

I am a Boston based strength and conditioning coach.

Posted on March 12, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Dave.. I can totally hear you saying this stuff. I can only imagine your no-nonsense, don’t eff around, yet im still smiling, voice telling clients how to reach their goals. this is awesome. i keep laughing as i keep reading.

Leave a Reply

