A Bit of a Weekend Rant

Whats up guys?  Happy friday.  I thought I would deliver a response to some of my favorite (or least favorite) quotes that I hear on a somewhat daily basis.  Enjoy.

“Squats are bad for your knees.”

The knee is a joint.  It is meant to move.  I have never heard my 2 year old son complain about knee pain when he goes into a deep squat to pick up his toys.  He is not focusing on his form.  He is moving the way the human body was intended to move.  Now, there are certainly circumstances where the application of the squat may not be appropriate for certain trainees at certain times in their training due to orthopedic issues or mobility restrictions, however the goal should be to resolve these issues and restore joint movement.   Again, the knee is a joint.  Joints are made to move.  

 

“I need to do more cardio.” (this is usually in a conversation regarding fat loss)

No you don’t.  You need to pay more attention to your diet.  This is not to say that cardiovascular work is not helpful, however fat loss is 90% what you are putting in your mouth.  Remember…you will never, ever, ever out train a crappy diet.

“I eat sooooo healthy and I just cannot lose weight.”

Riiiiiiight.  Newsflash…muffins are not healthy.  They are cupcakes in disguise.  I don’t care if it is bran, flax or whatever. Eating a piece of cake will never be part of a balanced breakfast.  To this list you may also add, “whole grain” crackers, 99% of flavored yogurt, breakfast cereals, “whole wheat” pasta and granola bars.  Eat more protein (think lean meats, fish, and some dairy), healthy fats (think fish oil, olive oil and nuts), and vegetables and fruits.  Build meals around protein sources.  Protein will help you build and retain lean tissue.  This is not an opinion this is a fact.  When you go grocery shopping, try to do 99%  of your shopping on the perimeter of the store.  You will never find twinkies or potato chips in the produce section or stashed under the beef or boneless chicken breast.   

“I don’t want to get bulky, I want that long, lean muscle.”

There is no such thing as long, lean muscle.    There is only muscle tissue.  There are Type I muscle fibers, which are the slow twitch fibers and Type IIa and Type IIb muscle fibers which are the fast twitch fibers.  Now I know what you are going to say;  Dave, marathon runners have that long, lean look to them.  People, that long, lean look is called skinny and weak.  So glad we got that cleared up.   

There you have it people.  Have a great weekend.

Work hard.

Dave Coffin

About dcoffin280

I am a Boston based strength and conditioning coach.

Posted on February 5, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. hey now, no need to bash on marathon runners. more people can lift a tire than can run 26.2 miles.

  2. A bicycle tire maybe. I know a lot more people that can run a marathon than could actually lift a 5oolbs tire. I’m just saying.

  3. Word Up David. Agreed with everything you said . . . that must make you smart! HA HA. I want another shot at you in the combine competition or whatever the hell we were calling it.

  4. Thanks for checking it out Noel. Let me know if you are ever visiting Boston again. You could come down to Excel and check out the facility. I hope you are doing well.

  5. Hey Dave,

    Didn’t anyone tell you that beer is a muffin in liquid form?

  6. Dave, I dig this article, very nice. Along the lines with #3 I think the cereal and orange juice breakfast is one of the biggest scams going and cringe anytime someone tells me that’s their breakfast.

    on #4, I find a lot of women say “I don’t want to get bulky” which is ironic because if they ever talked to a woman who wanted to have big muscles they would realize how difficult it is.

Leave a Reply

